June 5, 2009

Bike Boot Camp

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:45 pm by ogle3

As mentioned before, Peyton is riding a bike by himself! We’ve been practicing starting and stopping and turning in the parking lot of the school across the street. Here are a couple pics.
IMG_7952
IMG_7950
IMG_7960
IMG_7947

 

Here’s how we did it:

1.  Peyton wanted to learn

2.  We started out on the grass – that way if he fell, it wouldn’t hurt.  It was harder to pedal so I mostly ran and pushed him, but he did the balancing.

3.  I started him out on the cement in the parking lot, and he rode in circles.  When it was time to stop he coasted to me and I helped him to stop.

4.  I taught him to start on his own; though I still give him a bit of a push, every time I help less and less.

5.  I taught him to stop on his own; though I still make sure I’m there to catch him, I help less and less every time he stops.

Tonight he actually coasted into the driveway and stopped all by himself (without crashing).  A bit more practice and he’ll be street ready!  Oh, and Lauren thinks it’s great to ride in the wagon, dragged at sprint-speed to keep up with brother.  My next step: figure out how to tie the wagon to brother’s bike 😉  I’m sure Lauren and I can both fit inside!

Leave a Reply

