April 18, 2008

Growing Up

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:19 pm by ogle3

I’m thinking about getting Lauren’s ears pierced.  I had mine pierced when I was a couple months old, and it was kind of nice being able to wear earrings without remembering the pain of getting them done as a child.  Also, since I was so little when they were pierced and I wore earrings non-stop for the first few years of life, by the time it was my turn to care for them, it was easy.  I even left my earrings out for years at a time and they’ve never grown closed. 

We’ll probably be in Bellingham some time this weekend – maybe I’ll ask a few questions while we’re there.

Although Lauren may be old enough to get earrings, she isn’t quite old enough yet to sleep through the night.  Sigh.  She gave me a few nice nights, but typically she still wakes up every 3 hours.  Her evening has become more predictable, though, and she’s ready for bed at around the same time Peyton is.  I’ve been putting her in her own bed for all of her naps and in the beginning of the evening, and when I put her down she’s still somewhat awake, so she’s learning to self-soothe.  But during the night I’m so tired I don’t think – I just take her out of her bed and into ours.  I’m pretty sure that being in our bed is what causes her to wake up more often because when she’s been sleeping close to me for two hours and I roll onto my other side, she wakes up. 

I’ve decided that if I had a nice rocking chair in her room I’d be more likely to sit down and feed her in her room rather than taking her into our bed.  The chair in her room is wood and has no padding, plus it creaks, so at midnight when I wake up after sleeping for one hour, the fact that the chair even exists is unknown to me.  My soft warm bed is much more appealing…until I gradually become fully alert due to the throbbing of my uncomfortable arm. 

So maybe while we check into earrings we’ll also watch for a new rocker.

Oh, and did I mention that it snowed today?  Hailed too, for a few minutes – Peyton went outside singing “If all the raindrops were lemon drops and gumdrops, oh what a rain that would be!  Standing outside with my mouth open wide – ah, ah-ah ah, ah-ah ah, ah-ah ah…”  It’s a good thing the hail was only mini-jawbreaker sized, or his song would have ended “ow! Ow-ow ow, ow-ow ow, ow-ow ow!!!”

Leave a Reply

