February 7, 2008

One more day?

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:40 pm by ogle3

Tomorrow morning we have our last doctor’s appointment.  If I’m dilated another 1/2 cm. from the last checkup 2.5 weeks ago, he’ll strip the membranes.  Whenever I read about stripping the membranes (pulling a small section of the amniotic sac away from the uterine wall) the sources always say there’s a 50-50 chance that labor will start within 12 hours, but when I mentioned it at work this morning, everyone said they’d never heard of a time it hadn’t worked.  I had planned on going to work tomorrow after my appointment, but they’re already maxed out on subs and I don’t want them to be stuck at the last minute, so instead we arranged for my long-term sub to come in for me regardless.  Also, one of the guys at work said that his wife gave birth within 45 minutes of having her membranes stripped, so now James is coming to the appointment with me just in case…the hospital (and our doctor) are about 35 minutes away from home, so we’ll spend a couple hours in Bellingham to see how things go, and if nothing is happening we’ll go home and spend the day off cleaning 🙂

Hopefully the next update will include baby pictures – we’ll see what happens!

Leave a Reply

