January 15, 2008

Still here

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:28 pm by ogle3

Well, we’re in the clear…and now I’m sure we’ll still be waiting until February comes along.  I had a doctor’s appointment today and we spent the time talking about when to go to the hospital and our birth plan and delivery and such.  We didn’t do an exam – I don’t think I want to know what’s really going on in there since it doesn’t really indicate a delivery date anyway.  One lady was dilated to 4 and her doctor said she’d deliver soon…instead she made it to 3 more weeks of appointments and glared at him at each one.  Other women don’t dilate at all, but they have the baby the next day.  If I find out I’m dilating, I’ll be excited and probably end up a little more upset with every day that goes by.  If I’m not dilating, I’ll be frustrated that these stupid contractions aren’t doing anything but annoying me!  So I’ll just not find out and eventually we’ll really be in labor and go to the hospital.  At the very most we’ve got 4 weeks left, but she’s welcome to come any time.  I’ll be considered full-term on Friday, and I’d love for her to show up as soon as my grades are in (probably Friday), but most women carry to a day or two beyond the due date.  Can I make it?

We’ve had lots of friends offering to take Peyton when the baby comes…even if it’s in the middle of the night 🙂  We’re planning that he go to Gordon’s, but if we can’t get a hold of Gordon we’ll start calling the runners-up on our list.  It just reminds us that we are so blessed to be in such a great community.  We don’t have much family around, but our friends have stepped up to fill the role for us.

And now Peyton and I are going to play another few rounds of Uno, as we’ve been doing for the last couple weeks.  At Uncle Gordon’s on New Year’s Day we played Uno and discovered that Peyton could understand it, so we bought ourselves a deck and have been playing almost every day.  Peyton does win sometimes, and that’s often without any help from Mom or Dad!  Granted we can see all of his cards, but even when we ignore them he can still beat us!

Leave a Reply

