September 21, 2007

Another week gone by

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:50 pm by ogle3

Sorry that I haven’t been updating as much as I used to.  By the time dinner is eaten and cleaned up, I’m ready for bed.  Last night I sat down in the recliner and promptly fell asleep; James is my hero for putting Peyton to bed without even trying to wake me up, even if Peyton woke up this morning with a chocolate moustache from his dessert the night before.  Last week Friday and Saturday were the same – we attended a barbeque at school on Friday and as soon as we got home I fell asleep; the same thing happened after dinner on Saturday.  James has been great about helping with Peyton when I’m tired at night, and he has also done a lot to get Peyton ready in the mornings.  James doesn’t have to be at work now until 8:30 so for the past two weeks he’s been bringing Peyton to Jenn’s and to school, and he’s also been doing most of the work to get Peyton dressed and out the door.  I really appreciate having one less thing to worry about!

Peyton still loves school and adores his teachers.  One of my coworkers gave us 3 new books, and we also went to the library this week, so Peyton has been reading books almost non-stop for the last few days.  Right now he’s sitting on a pile of couch cushions with a backpack full of books, his legs crossed at the ankles.  He also came to a meeting with me yesterday because Daddy had to be at work early and Peyton did a great job just sitting quietly and reading. 

My classes are still going pretty smoothly, although there are a few students who’ve been getting on my nerves within the first few minutes of class.  Work has been going well for James, too.  He hears a lot of compliments on how clean everything is.

Our big ultrasound is coming up on Monday!  This week Peyton finally agreed that it would be okay for the baby to be a girl, which is a huge relief.  Since Jesus told him it was a boy, I was kind of worried that a girl-baby might cause him to lose his faith 🙂  We decided that God will give us the baby that is just right for us, and if He wants a baby girl in our family it will be a girl, and if He wants a baby boy in our family then it will be a boy.  Peyton is happy to agree with that and has brought up the topic himself about how the baby will be Lauren Elizabeth or Loren Henry.

My students are almost as excited as I am to find out whether it’s a girl or a boy – they keep asking if we’ve had the appointment yet.  Interestingly, two boys are the most interested – one in first hour and one in last.  The first hour boy can’t wait to find out, and the 7th hour boy wanted the whole class to guess whether it would be a boy or a girl, and he wanted to give us some name suggestions 🙂  I forgot to poll the students and I’m scheduled for a grading day on Monday, but they haven’t found a sub yet so if I have to go in I’ll make sure to give them a pop quiz 🙂

I promise I’ll update again on Monday night!

1 Comment »

  1. Tina said,

    I think Peyton might want to become an English teacher. 🙂


Leave a Reply

