July 10, 2007

WFMW – Cleaning up Ants

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:54 pm by ogle3

It’s summer.  It’s hot.  I’m pregnant.  I don’t think I’ve swept the kitchen floor in weeks.  And that’s where the ants come in.  They want water, they sense crumbs, so in they come.

We use a household cleaner + bleach – it kills the ants right away so the little buggers aren’t crawling around the rag you’re wiping them with, plus it definitely gets rid of the track they leave behind them, preventing other ants from following them in.  The bleach also makes it smell clean in the house – even though I know in my right mind that our house is not clean, it’s nice to allow my subconscious to believe my nose and think otherwise.

Of course, #1 ant prevention is to keep the house clean in the first place, but since the only place I really want to keep clean right now is the toilet bowl (for reasons you can ponder on your own), cleaner with bleach works for me.

For more WFMW ideas, visit Rocks in my Dryer.

4 Comments »

  1. Corrie said,

    I wonder how this would work outside? Would it be flammable, ‘cuz mine haven’t found their way in yet and I’d like to keep it that way.

  2. mrslady said,

    I know…first you count in days, then you count in weeks-then you get to start over when their born. First it’s days, then in weeks…months…then years…it still makes me sad. Or I’m extremely hormonal-I have been lately. It is nice to have another pregnant bloggy mommy around-we’re both due in February [though I’m not until the 25th] and we both have a three year old [although yours is 3 years 6 months and mine is 3 years 4 months] 🙂

  3. Gramma said,

    White vinegar also gets rid of the odor that the scout ant leaves behind so that the other ants follow. Remember when we first moved in the house and I battled ants? I put white vinegar on a paper towel and wiped/killed the ants. Vinegar is also supposed to kill plants so don’t use it on the grass (or bleach either).

  4. Dave said,

    Boiling hot water. Especially on the ant hill.


Leave a Reply

