July 7, 2007

More Firsts

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:00 pm by ogle3

Earlier in the week Peyton and I went for a bike-walk – he rode his big wheel and I walked behind him.  I figured we’d do a small circle around the block but he wasn’t tired, so we walked/rode a few extra blocks before returning home.  All together we travelled the brisk pace for 30 minutes, which doesn’t sound like a lot, but on that day at 10 am it was enough to give me a sunburn 🙂

Now that I know Peyton can ride his bike that far, I know he can make it to Bender Fields, which is about a 20 minute walk from home, so we did that after dinner this evening.  I brought the wagon packed with kite, blanket and waterbottle just in case he was too tired to make the trip home, and I wore a whistle around my neck in case he decided it would be funny to go super-fast and watch mom chase him (Mom did not enjoy that on our previous walk).  If he went too far and didn’t stop at the whistle he wouldn’t get to ride anymore, so he made great choices and slowed and stopped whenever I told him to.  We had planned on flying the kite but by the time we got there the wind had mostly died down, so instead he played on the slides and swings and made a few new friends.  The return trip was uneventful, which is a good thing 🙂  I’m so glad Peyton is old enough to ride his bike – now when we walk to the park I’m not the only one getting a work-out and he’ll be as ready for bed as I am!

Another first – we used our barbecue tonight for the very first time ever!  Can you believe we’ve been married almost six years and didn’t own a barbecue until Father’s Day this year?  We had a very small, private celebration to the tune of 3 cheeseburgers and applesauce, and I’m sure we’ll really appreciate the outdoor cooker next week, since temperatures are expected to get into the 90s (yuck). 

Looks like Peyton and I will be making more trips to Fishtrap Creek next week, but if it’s that hot, we’re taking the car!

Leave a Reply

