June 12, 2007

My Blogging Story

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:25 pm by ogle3

Chilihead posted her “Blogging Story” and asked that others do the same.  Here’s my response to the questions:

How did you start blogging?
When we moved up from So Cal to NW WA we knew we’d need something to keep us in touch.  I don’t use the phone very often, and mass emails always have the feel of junk mail (though I love getting updates on you all!), and I love taking pictures and I love writing as well, so I decided to try this thing called blogging.  My husband says I’m addicted, but he’s wrong.  It’s not about me…it’s about…the readers…yeah…

Did you intend to be a blog w/a big following? If so, how did you go about it?

My only hope was that some friends and family would check it for picture updates and to hear about the crazy goings-on up here.  I really thought that the only people who’d come across our blog were those that we already knew in “real life.”  Then I started Works for me Wednesday 🙂 and enjoyed record-breaking (it’s not hard to pass 25) visits.  I love knowing that people actually read what I write, especially since it’s my time, and sometimes my soul, poured out only to float around in cyberspace. 
What do you hope to achieve or accomplish with your blog? Have you been successful? If not, do you have a plan to achieve those goals?
Well, my first goal was to inform family and friends of the little things that otherwise get forgotten between visits, but since then I’ve enjoyed playing with words.  As an English teacher, blogging has been a way to practice the things I make my students do and to see what I can come out with (which is somehow much better than their “I did this during commercials while also ‘studying’ with my boyfriend” or the always frustrating “oh, that was due today?”).   

Has the focus of your blog changed since you started blogging? How?
I found that those I expected to check our blog weren’t, and those I maybe didn’t expect really appreciated it.  Then there’s the personal satisfaction in chronicaling the events that are happening in our lives.  I probably enjoy writing more than my readers enjoy reading.

What do you know now that you wish you’d known when you started?
How much time it takes and how addicting it is!  I started by just writing my own blog.  Then I started checking up on a few friends from college.  It’s just been downhill from there – now Wednesday evenings are spent watching Lost and checking WFMW tips during commercials.  One post leads to another…but remember!  It’s all reading!  Reading is good for me…and I’m enjoying getting to know other women through their blogs. 

Do you make money with your blog?
Sounds nice, but with all the other things that I have going on, I’m sticking to free hosts like wordpress.  (That’s assuming that you’ve got to design and pay for your blog in order to make money off of the advertisers – I obviously know very little about this.)

Does your immediate or extended family know about your blog? If so, do they read it? If not, why?
My parents check it regularly, and there are a few friends that I suspect, but other than that I have no idea who reads this!  Whenever I ask people if they check our blog they usually give some excuse – they somehow didn’t know how to google Ogle3 or Ogle4 or other details that would bring us up!  Oh well – if they don’t care about us…

I also (sheepishly) keep a secret blog that I’ve only invited one person to read.  It’s my thoughts, bare and honest, and typically in poetic form (not of the “how do I love thee?  let me count the ways” sort).  As an overly-sensitive English teacher, I’d be devastated if it stunk to everyone but me.  If you’re desperately interested and promise not to rip it to shreds, email me and maybe I’ll send you the address.  I could use some gentle criticism.

What two pieces of advice would you give to a new blogger?
Just do it and It’s good for your soul. 

Sorry if I’m trailing off, here…I’m exhausted!  Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

