May 22, 2007

WFMW – Morning Walk

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:56 pm by ogle3

I started walking again.  When I was pregnant with Peyton in ’03-’04, I walked religiously, though I varied when I walked because I had an open schedule.  After Peyton was born I plugged his carseat into the stroller and we walked together until I was back to pre-pregnancy weight, but after that I walked on and off whenever it was convenient.  I started teaching full-time when Peyton was 8 months, plus I was taking classes for my all important California teaching credential (grrr – see next post!), so I was too tired most of the time for any regular exercise.

But I started walking again.  I walked almost daily while we were pregnant until we lost the baby, and then I gave up again.  I did want to walk, but I didn’t want to have to get up early.  After school every day I’d beg Peyton to ride in his stroller while I walk, but most days he declines – I guess three year olds are too cool for that.  Then I tried to bribe him – he could ride in the bike trailer and we could bike 20 minutes down a trail to super-cool City Park (sorry – when I upload our pictures, I’ll post them, but for now the blueprint will have to work), then he could play before we trek back.  He only took the bait once.

So I started walking again.  It SO works for me.  I feel more awake and energized throughout the day, plus I drink more water, which is also a good thing.  Plus the routine of walking, eating breakfast and having a cup of coffee while I read the day’s selection of the One Year Bible makes me feel like I’ve actually accomplished something really important, and the day hasn’t even started yet!  It’s gorgeous in the morning here in Washington, and I loved the smell of morning and trees and brisk air.  Walking in the evening is sometimes tempting, though – then I’d have the energy to do some grading before bed when I’d rather veg in front of the TV after Peyton’s tucked in.  Walking works for me!

4 Comments »

  1. tanyetta said,

    walking is great! i love to walk! i need to do it more!

  2. mom2fur said,

    OMGosh, I need to start walking again…after my broken toe heals. (I walked into a table leg at 6 in the morning…duh). I miss my walks, and it’s been so beautiful out. I let them go by the wayside after some back problems, but man, oh, man, do I ever need to get out and MOVE! Good for you for starting your own walks again!

  3. ohamanda said,

    I just started walking in the morning with my one year old. We always see dogs on our walk, so now when she wakes up she starts asking for dogs! I like doing something we both like!

  4. Ashley said,

    It sounds like you have a great morning routine. If we didn’t live in the ghetto I would walk more. I wish there was something pretty around here to walk to 😦


Leave a Reply

