April 20, 2007

Antropolis

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:35 pm by ogle3

We had an ant farm in our house.  It seems to be taking care of itself since I started using cornmeal instead of cornstarch.  There are still a few stragglers alive, but another day or two and they, too, will go the way of the buffalo.

Peyton and I noticed something else this afternoon, though, while we were gardening the strip of dirt along the street.  In color, it looked like a pile of overturned dirt , but apparently I need to get my eyes checked.  Something was strange about the pile, so I looked closer and found one of the most disgusting things I’ve ever seen before.  If our previous puny pile was considered a farm, then I stumbled upon “Antropolis,” also known as “A whole bunch a ants” according to Peyton.  I couldn’t figure out if they were eating eachother or the bark they were swarming on, I just knew I could come up with a thousand better ways to die than death by ants.  I should have scooped them up and sent them to Hollywood for use in the next disgusting horror film. 

With a shovel I pushed the dirt around a bit to see if they were eating something, but I didn’t notice anything unusual.  They looked hungry and I didn’t want to be a poor hostess, since they were in my dirt and all, so I brought out a special snack for them.  Hopefully they aren’t too hungry…I’m almost out of cornmeal.

Leave a Reply

