April 17, 2007

WFMW – Grocery Game

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:54 pm by ogle3

It’s Works for me Wednesday at Rocks in My Dryer – this week’s episode:  The grocery game.

I played the Grocery game for a year before we moved from CA up to WA; when we moved I quit for a while because…I don’t know – maybe I like the punishment of paying a lot of money for groceries?  I started saving my coupons from the paper a few months ago, and last week I started playing the game again!  I did have a 10% off coupon for starting up a club card at Safeway, but combine that with my coupons and I saved 52%, plus I earned a $10 off my next visit coupon by buying $30 worth of “Living Well, Feeling Great” products, from cleaner to soap to lunchmeat to pasta sauce…you name it, it’s on the list. 

Grocery Game costs $1/week, plus the money you’ll spend on Sunday papers if you don’t already get the paper and coupons.  I use an accordion file, stick each week’s coupons in a separate slot, and when I check Teri’s shopping list for the week, it tells me what is at its lowest price and where I can find a coupon to get it for even cheaper. 

Not only do you save money, but shopping is so much more fun when it’s a game!  It works for me!

Make sure you remember Heather today

4 Comments »

  1. Overwhelmed! said,

    I play the grocery game. It’s saved me quite a bit of money thus far!

  2. mom2fur said,

    I’ve been playing Grocery Game for about 2 years now. I’ve built up such a good stockpile that there are even some weeks I skip going to one of my grocery stores (I have two on my GG list)! It really is worth the money–you save so much more than it costs you, and it’s easy! I would highly recommend it!

  3. Rebeckah said,

    I have been thinking about signing up, but something holds me back. Maybe I like spending money at the grocery store : (!

  4. Jennifer said,

    I found that the items on the GG list in my area were just what was in the ad. Maybe it’s because I live in a smaller town. Has anyone else had this problem? Is it more extensive in the bigger cities?


Leave a Reply

