April 14, 2007

Ant Farm

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:46 pm by ogle3

We have an ant farm.  Those little creatures are pretty amazing – Peyton and I could stare at them for hours, watching their movements, discovering their little trails, trying to figure out where they are going to go and why they are going there.  Are they carrying food, or just walking around? 

Why haven’t they discovered the mess under Peyton’s chair on the dining room floor?

Yes, as you may have inferred, a small section of our house has become an ant farm.  We don’t mind so much – we’re waiting for them to die off from a poison that we didn’t really give them. 

You may have noticed my Works for Me Wednesday posts, and you may have even clicked the link to Shannon’s other WFMW bloggers.  One post I read seemed to solve our ant problem, only I sort of misread it.  I was so excited that we were going to kill off our ants and I could make good use of a WFMW post!  I poured a small pile of cornstarch over the hole our ants had been coming from and watched.  And watched.  And watched.  The pile slowly shrunk as the ants carried it back to the nest.  According to the poster, ants can’t digest it, so they die.  I watched the ants sluggishly climb the wall, then fall off.  I have never seen an ant fall off of something, so I thought our plan was working.  The number of ants also diminished, so I thought all was going according to plan.

For some reason I began to doubt the starch…maybe she had said cornmeal?  I double-checked the original WFMW post.  If my cornstarch is working, it’s a new find.  According to the original post, I was supposed to use cornmeal.  I suppose my middle school science experiment didn’t work very well – perhaps now is the time to make up for it.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

1 Comment »

  1. […] in Uncategorized at 9:35 pm by ogle3 We had an ant farm in our house.  It seems to be taking care of itself since I started using cornmeal instead of […]


Leave a Reply

